Author Archives: Lisa Banner

FCCLA Cutest Contest

FCCLA will be sponsoring the annual “Cutest Contests” at the Elementary Carnival which will be held at the West Forest School on Friday, May 3 at 6:00 pm. One contest will be for Forest County’s Cutest Baby.  Any child who is age 2 or younger can be entered by submitting a picture of the child to the West Forest High School Office.  Please put the child’s name, parent’s name and phone number on the back of the photo.  If you would like the photo returned, please also note that on the back.  The second contest is for Forest County’s Cutest Pet.  The same procedure of picture submission will be used for this contest.  Contestants will be voted for during the carnival by placing money into the various containers.  The baby or pet receiving the most money will be declared the winner and the picture will be published in the Forest Press and be given a $10 gift certificate.  All profits will help the FCCLA National Team go to the National Leadership Conference in Anaheim, CA this summer.

Picture of Belle Ralston and her puppy, Ivy

Mr. Dunkel Visits West Forest to Talk About Recycling

On April 22, 2019 the 3rd and 9th grades students at West Forest School had a guest speaker visit their classes.  Mr. Daniel Dunkel of Green Line Polymers in Shippenville, Pennsylvania explained the process of recycling plastics into heavy pipes.  The students learned that some types of plastics can be recycled easily and others are harder to use again, but all should be turned in for recycling.   Now they will be using what they have learned to create bouncy balls from different polymers and testing them to see which type works the best.

Back Row: 9th grade students

Middle and Front row: 3rd grade students
Guest Speaker: Mr. Daniel Dunkel

East Forest National Honor Society Induction 2019

The Karl P. Seiffert Chapter of the National Honor Society at East Forest High School in Marienville held its induction ceremony on April 3, 2019, with four students being inducted as permanent members and one as a probationary member.  Induction into the society is based on: Scholarship, Character, Leadership, and Service.

Pictured are: Jarrett Kahle and Daniel Parrett (permanent members), Taylor Andrews, Tessa Korchak, Shania Styen, and Luke Cussins (newly inducted permanent members), and Corbin Micale (probationary member).